And so it begins…

 After months of saving, planning and faffing around trying to sort everything out, I’m finally sat in Gatwick airport waiting to board my flight to Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam. It hasn’t really sunk in yet that I’m moving to a country and a continent I’ve never stepped foot on to work as an English teacher; in fact I don’t think that part will hit me until I’m standing in front of the class! There are a few butterflies in my stomach, but I’m so excited to start this adventure! 

I’ve wanted to travel since I can remember and although I’ve been on mini trips, they’ve only really been holidays. I studied English Language & Literature and at uni and throughout the course TEFL kept cropping up. So, it seems only natural to combine the two! As there’s a huge demand for ESL teachers all around the world, it’s an exciting thought to be able to live and teach pretty much anywhere.

For months I was set on China. The abundance of well paid jobs, rich history and travel opportunities really appeals to me. Vietnam still offers all of these things but the selling point for me is that it’s at the crust of Southeast Asia, with accessible links to many neighbouring countries on my travel list. After many phone calls with my best friend Beth who I’m doing this with, we decided to move to Ho Chi Minh City (formerly known as Saigon).

So what’s the plan? To be honest I don’t really know. I know I have booked a one way flight to Ho Chi Minh and I know I have a teaching contract for a probationary period of three months. I’m quite liking the idea of having no fixed plan, but something tells me I’ll be spending most of this year in Asia with Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, India, Nepal and Indonesia at the top of my travel bucket list. Ah I’m excited!

Before I visit a country I usually Lonely Planet and Google it to the ground. Although I have researched Vietnam I’m trying to go with minimal expectations. I know it’s going to be hot so after months of greyness and rain I can’t wait for some SUN! I also expect I’ll be in my element with Vietnamese food! I just hope I see no dogs on the menu…

Time to begin this 16 hour journey…

See you soon, Vietnam!

img_0059

4 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. adamrobertyoung says:

    Good luck!

    If you need any tips, feel free to ask me. I did some time in HCMC working for a lifestyle magazine (Oi Vietnam) during which time I got to see a lot of the city. The book Saigon Panorama, which you’ll see in most of the English language bookstores, is also mine, so I have a fair deal of inside tips on living there.

    The fact that my wife is from near HCMC probably also helped!

    Like

Leave a Reply

